Ebook Central is a vast collection of over 200 000 e-books from all branches of science .
Are Ebook Central books included in the book catalogue?
Yes, almost all books are searchable in the book catalogue, but details such as subtitles and co-authors can be missing. In Åbo you search in Alma-Novia, other places in Finna for Novia. You can also use Ebook Central's own interface.
How can I read?
| Web browser | |
| Borrow complete e-books (offline) Requires an Ebook Central account and Adobe ID. |
|
| Pdf Parts of a book |
|
| Print-outs Pdf-files |
Good to know
You can store books (and annotations made when reading in a web browser) on a "bookshelf" if you create an Ebook Central account. Ebook Central is the largest collection of e-books accessible through the library. New titles are added frequently and some titles may be removed from the collection.
Limitations
While the greater part can be read by an unlimited number of users, a small amount of books are limited to either one or three simultaneous users. The amount of text you can copy is also limited. Books can be borrowed for 1–14 days.
Instructions
Instructions can be found in Ebook Central's LibGuide and video guides, as well as on the help-page.
About 65 acquired e-books are available in Ebsco eBook Collection. Ebsco eBook Collection also includes 650 e-books published by Harvard Business Review.
Are eBook Collection books included in the book catalogue?
Yes, the books are searchable in the book catalogue, except from Harvard Business Review books that are found in Ebsco eBook Collection. In Åbo you search in Alma-Novia, otherwise in Finna for Novia. You can also use Ebsco eBook Collection's own interface.
How can I read?
| Web browser | |
| Borrow complete books (offline) Requires an Ebsco account and Adobe ID. |
|
| Pdf Up to 100 pages |
|
| Print-outs Up to 100 pages |
Good to know
You can also use a Google account (e.g. Gmail), when you need to log in to borrow an e-book.
Limitations
Some books are limited to one simultaneous user. Then you can only read the book online.
Instructions
Instructions can be found in Ebsco eBooks' LibGuide and video guides, and by clicking on Help in the upper right-hand corner of the service.
Both fiction and nonfiction, but mostly in Swedish - also audiobooks.
Are Biblios e-books included in the book catalogue?
No, search for the books directly in Biblio. Use your own library's Biblio, as you can access the books with the library card + password.
How can I read?
| Web browser Some exceptions |
|
| Borrow complete e-books (offline) Requires ADE (pc/mac), Biblio (Android/iOS), Aldiko Ebook Reader (Android/iOS). Also ADE is available for Android/iOS, but is unstable. |
|
| Print-outs |
Good to know
Enter your library card number and your library card password to log in. You ought to have changed your library card password once before being able to log in. For Android/iOS Elibs own app Biblio is recommended at the moment.
Limitations
In Vasa and Jakobstad, you can borrow up to two books a week, in Raseborg and Åbo up to three books a week. Books can be borrowed for 28 days.
Instructions
Use your own library's Biblio and click on "How it works" to find the instructions.
Both fiction and nonfiction. Mostly in Finnish, although there are an growing amount in English - also audiobooks.
Are Ellibs e-books included in the book catalogue?
Yes and no. In Novia Finna (Vasa, Jakobstad) the books are searchable. In Raseborg the books are not searchable, go to Ellibs where you can find all the books. The service is not currently available in Åbo.
How can I read?
| Web browser Some exceptions |
|
| Borrow complete e-books (offline) Requires ADE (pc/mac), Ellibs (Android/iOS), Aldiko Ebook Reader (Android/iOS). Also ADE is available for Android/iOS, but is unstable. |
|
| Print-outs |
Good to know
Enter your library card number and your library card password to log in.
Limitations
Loan period and number of books you can borrow vary. The settings have been made by the lending libraries. You can renew your loans if there is no queue.
Instructions
Instructions can be found on the instructions-page.
Contains about 150 Finnish e-books within the subject areas of economics, employment, law, leadership, marketing and sale.
Can one search the e-books in Kauppakamarin ammattikirjasto in the book catalogue?
No, the books are not included in the book catalogue. Go to Kauppakamarin ammattikirjasto where you can find all the books.
How can I read?
| Web browser | |
| Borrow complete e-books (offline) | |
| Pdf One chapter at a time |
|
| Print-outs Parts of a book |
Good to know
Print-outs, both pdf and paper are made from the "print" icon that appears at the top right of each chapter. You can only print one chapter at a time.
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Instructions
Instructions (in Finnish) can be found on the ohjeet-page.
SpringerLink Books contains about 8 000 e-books, mainly in the areas of natural sciences, medicine and technology.
Are SpringerLink Books included in the book catalogue?
The books that are included in our Springer package are searchable in the book catalogue, but books that are Open Access do not seem to be found through the book catalogue. All books are searchable in Springer's own interface.
How can I read?
| Web browser | |
| Print-outs |
Limitations
The books can be read by an unlimited number of users.
Instructions
Instructions can be found in SpringerLink's video guides and on the support-page.
We only have on book via ST-akatemia: Bokslutsmodell för aktiebolag. The book is also available remotely with Novia password.
Is Bokslutsmodell för aktiebolag in the book catalogue?
Yes, the book is searchable in Alma-Novia (Åbo) and in Finna for Novia (Vasa, Jakobstad, Raseborg).
How can I read?
| Web browser | |
| Print-outs |
Good to know
The online version is regularly updated against the latest legislation.
Limitations
Only 30 simultaneous users. You can't download the book.
Instructions
Instructions (in Finnish) can be found on the usein kysyttyä-page.
