LibGuides: Maritime Management: Key Digital Resources

Using E-resources

You can use the licensed e-resources within Novia's network and via remote access. Students and staff access the e-resources remotely via Finna or LibGuides by logging in with the Novia-username.

Key databases

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ABI Inform Global (ProQuest) provides articles and abstracts within the fields business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Contains full text articles from about 1,200 periodicals.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central is a collection of over 130.000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas.
EBSCO Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) provides full text for more than 2,000 serials. Abstracts and indexing are provided for about 3,500 serials. The database covers nearly every area of academic study.
Emerald This link opens in a new window Emerald provides full text articles in the spectrum of management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management. Engineering, applied science and technology are also included.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window SpringerLink offers over 2,000 scholarly electronic journals, mainly in science, technics and medicine.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides quick and reliable access to over 1 million statistics on 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources.
Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.

E-book databases

In the Novia eBooks guide, you will find more information about e-books. You can go directly into the eBook services below or search eBooks in Finna.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central is a collection of over 130.000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window The EBSCO eBook Collection of Novia contains individually selected and purchased e-books.

You can read e-books in your web browser directly or download them to your computer or mobile device.

E-books from Ebook Central and EBSCO can be accessed with your Novia usernamne and password.

Selected, free publications

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books Directory of Open access Books contains 3084 Academic peer-reviewed books from 107 publishers.
InTech - Open science InTech is the publisher of one of the largest multidisciplinary open access collection of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. Since 2004, InTech has collaborated with 87879 authors and published 2458 books and 6 journals with the aim of providing free online access to research.
NCBI - Bookshelf Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
OAPEN - freely accessible academic books The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. (Medicine, health, psychology, sociology, social services & welfare...)

All databases

Browse licensed and open access databases in Finna:

Turku and Raseborg: Alma (Novia) > Browse databases

Vaasa and Jakobstad: Tritonia Finna | Novia > Browse databases

Please note that a search in Finna don't fully cover all the articles and materials. All comprehensive searches should be done in the interfaces of the databases. Links to the databases in Finna and LibGuides.

Newspapers online

PressReader - International Newspapers and Magazines

Over 7000 newspapers and magazines from at least 100 countries and in 60 different languages. Available in the Novia network and with login for remote access.

ePress newspapers: Vasabladet, Ilpo, Hesari

ePress - Finnish Newspapers

Contains about 220 domestic newspapers, among others Helsingin sanomat, Ilkka-Pohjalainen, Vasabladet ja HBL. Availabe in the Novia network (no remote access). 3 simultaneous users.

Important links

Regs4ships
Regs4ships is a searchable, maritime regulation database that combines Flag State compliance documentation with IMO, ILO & EU legislation to provide an overall regulatory solution. Logg in with Novia username and Novia password.
Model Course, IMO e-books/e-readers.
Staff only: Ask for username and password (siv.osterman@abo.fi)
Reeds marine engineering
Logg in with Novia username and Novia password

Search for information on research in Finland

Search for information on resarch in Finland through the Research portal.

Publication information consists of information submitted by Finnish universities, universities of applied sciences, research institutes and university hospitals in the data collection of the Ministry of Education and Culture. For the last three years is almost 75 % published through an open access channel or made open by self-archiving.