LibGuides: Novia eArticles: Find articles in databases

Fulltext of articles

In most databases, you can limit the search to only full-text material. Note however that this applies to the database you are searching in, the full text of the article can usually be found through some other database or ordered as an interlibrary loan. If you directly limit to full text only, you will exclude many relevant and newly published articles from your search result.

If the fulltext, or the link to the full text can’t be found directly:

The article can be freely available (open access), for example in a publication archive, try searching in a search engine.
Most articles can be ordered as interlibrary loan, a copy of the article will then be sent to the library and can be collected at the service desk.

According to most license agreements, library users have the right to use the e-resources on site (walk-in-user in the library).

Tritonia

The e-resources of the University of Vaasa, VAMK University of Applied Sciences, and Novia University of Applied Sciences can be accessed in compliance with the license agreements at the terminals for information retrieval at Tritonia (Vaasa).

Turku

The e-resources of Åbo Akademi University and Novia University of Applied Sciences can be accessed in compliance with the license agreements in the libraries of Åbo Akademi Univiersity (Turku).

International article databases

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ABI Inform Global (ProQuest) provides articles and abstracts within the fields business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Contains full text articles from about 1,200 periodicals.
Cinahl Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The CINAHL Complete database allows you to search for articles in hundreds of nursing journals. In addition to journal articles, you'll also find evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, legal cases, clinical trials, and more. CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL® CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
EBSCO Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) provides full text for more than 2,000 serials. Abstracts and indexing are provided for about 3,500 serials. The database covers nearly every area of academic study.
Emerald This link opens in a new window Emerald provides full text articles in the spectrum of management disciplines including strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management. Engineering, applied science and technology are also included.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window SpringerLink offers over 2,000 scholarly electronic journals, mainly in science, technics and medicine.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides quick and reliable access to over 1 million statistics on 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources.
Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.

Domestic article databases (Finland)

Journal.fi - Finnish Scholarly Journals Online

TISCI - Scientific journals online

Arto - A collection of Finnish periodical and monograph articles

digi.kansalliskirjasto.fi - Digital Collections -The National Library of Finland

Google Scholar

A free web search engine for scientific publications

More information

Different types of databases

Full-text databases include full-text of the material, as well as references

Reference databases include references to articles, but not necessarily the articles themselves, which often must be retrieved elsewhere

Citation databases include information on citations between articles: who has cited what and how many citations have accumulated

Please note that most databases are combinations of these types. Some of the articles in the database can be read in full-text, some are available only as abstracts.