LibGuides: Business and Economy: Other Resources

Statistics

Eurostat This link opens in a new window Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities, gives free access to economic and social information on the euro-zone, the EU and the 25 Member States. More than 300 million data, from many different domains, are available online, varying from consumer prices, through poverty or environmental indicators, to detailed external trade data by product.

Ilostat Database The ILOSTAT database of the ILO is the main source of worldwide data on labour markets and unemployment
OECD Data The OECD publishes statistics for OECD countries and selected non-member countries.Topics include demographics, health, education and finance.
Statistical yearbooks Statistical yearbooks from Finland and other countries
Statistics Finland
UNData Statistical resources compiled by the UN statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes. UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics Globally and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
World Development Indicators The WDI database includes statistics worldwide since 1960. The indicators focus on different economic, social and environmental aspects.

Legislation

EUR-Lex EUR-Lex is the entry point to the complete collections of EU legal texts: - Official Journal of the European Union - Treaties - Legislation - Legislation in preparation - Case-law - Parliamentary questions - Documents of public interest - Enlargement
Finlex FINLEX is a freely accessible database of Finnish legislation. The texts are mainly in Finnish and in Swedish.

Useful links

Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment Advisory, financing and development services for enterprises
Finnish Enterprise Agencies The Finnish Enterprise Agencies – founded in 1989 – are a nationwide network of 150 qualified business advisors and 1,500 experts.
Finnish Patent and Registration Office Finnish Patent and Registration Office works for the benefit of companies and organizations.
Pellervo Coop Center Pellervo is a service and a lobbying organisation for all Finnish co-operatives and a forum for co-operative activities.
The Suomi.fi - Information and services for companies The Suomi.fi Web Service provides information and services for different life situations and stages of a company’s lifecycle.

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Electropedia Electropedia (also known as the "IEV Online") is the world's most comprehensive online electrical and electronic terminology database containing more than 20 000 terms and definitions in English and French organized by subject area, with equivalent terms in various other languages: Arabic, Chinese, Czech, Finnish, German, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian (Bokmål and Nynorsk), Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Serbian, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish (coverage varies by subject area). Electropedia is produced by the IEC, the world’s leading organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies – collectively known as “electrotechnology”. Electropedia contains all the terms and definitions in the International Electrotechnical Vocabulary or IEV which is published also as a set of publications in the IEC 60050 series that can be ordered separately from the IEC webstore.
Finto Finto is a Finnish thesaurus and ontology service, which enables both the publication and browsing of vocabularies.
TEPA The Finnish Terminology Centre TSK's term bank TEPA is a free-of-charge term bank maintained by the Finnish Terminology Centre TSK (Sanastokeskus TSK) containing special language terms and definitions in cirka 365 000 terminological entries. TEPA contains vocabularies, dictionaries and terminological databases compiled by both TSK and other experts. The most common languages in TEPA are Finnish, Swedish, English and German.
MOT Kielipalvelu (MOT DIctionaries)
MOT Kielitarkastin (MOT Proofing)

Free eBooks

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books Academic open access books from different publishers.
InTech - Open science Open access books from the field of science, technology and medical science.
OAPEN - freely accessible academic books Online library and publication platform.

About Patents

Espacenet Espacenet offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1782 to today and contains data on more than 120 million patent documents from around the world.
Finnish Patent and Registration Office Finnish Patent and Registration Office works for the benefit of companies and organizations.
FreePatentsOnline Complete Patent Searching Database and Patent Data Analytics Services.
Google Patents Google Patents covers patents and published patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and the European Patent Office (EPO)
PATENTSCOPE The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
PatInfo Finnish Patent and Registration Office