Publikationsguide (NY 2022)

Publication Information for Ministry of Education and Culture (OKM) Data Collection

Basis for the collection of publication information:

The publications made by Novias staff are reported annually to the Ministry of Education and Culture (OKM), just like other performance related to the performance guidance of higher education institutions. OKM instructs research organizations (universities, research institutes, university hospitals) on data collection. The data collection applies to publications that are significant for monitoring research and development activities. The Ministry uses the data from the publication data collection for the guidance of higher education institutions (e.g. funding model, key figures objectives, feedback from the Ministry) and the preparation of science policy.

Novia is responsible for the accuracy of the data submitted in the data collection. The criteria for publications and types of publications are described in the Publication data collection instructions for researchers (2021) manual.

The data collection procedure does not apply to all publications derived from research activities. For instance, researchers give presentations and lectures as well as present their research at various events (e.g. posters), in the press and electronic media, but these performances and outputs are not part of the publication data collection by the Ministry of Education and Culture (OKM). 

What publications should I report?

• Articles that are published in professional or scientific publications (magazines, journals and compilations), as well as professional or scientific monographs and edited compilations. Artistic works and audivisual material (such as exhibitions and videos) as well as IT and communication technology programmes and patents are also reported.
• In order to be accepted to publication data collecting, the publication must have at least one author with an affiliation with Novia university of applied sciences (usually by employment). The publication must also be based on the author’s expertise and work conducted at Novia.
• Publications in Novia's own publication series Rapporter are reported as research reports (D4) or compilations (type D6). Article in Compilations (D6) with an author from Novia are reported separately as D2.
• Each publication is reported only once. The authors should decide which one of them reports the publication to avoid duplicates.
• Publications co-published with another university are reported only once by each contributing university, regardless of the number of their authors. All authors are listed in the same report.
• Scientific publications (types A-C, including conferences) must have an ISBN and/or ISSN.
• In professional and popular publications (types D-E) the minimum requirement  is the title of the magazine and/or the name of the publisher. In professional conferences the established name of the conference is required.
•  An ISBN/ISSN is no longer mandatory in publication types D-E, as long as the publication otherwise meets the standards of publication data collecting.
• Information on reporting artistic publications are presented further down on this page. The contributor to an artistic publication should choose a role and a type category. The type category describes the event, while the role describes what the contributor does.

You can read more about the publication data collecting from the Ministry of Education and Culture’s Publication data collection instructions for researchers.

If you have questions about reporting publications, please contact

Johanna Glader, 050 356 4729

johanna.glader@novia.fi or johanna.e.glader@abo.fi

If you have questions about publishing in Novias own publication series or want to publish a blog or vlog at Novialia, please contact 

Caroline Lång, 050 470 6592

caroline.lang@novia.fi

Research.fi

a service offered by the Ministry of Education and Culture that collects and shares information on research conducted in Finland.

Figures on science and research

F1 Published independent work of art

• an independent art publication that is not part of another work of art or does not contain elements that can be considered independent artistic publications (for example, a solo exhibition)

F2 Partial implementation of an artistic work

• an art publication can have a close, inseparable relationship with a co-publication, but it can still be valued as a separate work as per field-specific practice (for example, the staging of a play, a painting in a co-exhibition, a chamber musician's part in a concert, an actor's performance)
• the compilation work for a publication is also entered under this category, i.e. the selection of parts, defining general artistic policies and working on the partial publications with the authors to make them fit within the publication (for example, directing a dramatic work, artistic directing/production of concerts, curating an exhibition)

F3 Artistic part of a non-artistic publication

• an artistic part of a publication whose context is not primarily artistic but whose artistic part is valued in the art community in question (for example, the plans of an architect or designer)

Artistic publications are reported via Justus. A role and a type category must be chosen for every reported F-type publication.

To report a solo exhibition (F1)

• title of the exhibition as publication name
• your name as both publication author and organization's author
• choose a role
• choose solo exhibition as an art type category
• individual works are not reported

To report a group exhibition (F2)

• title of the exhibition as publication title, with additional information as follows:
  • one work -> Exhibition title : Name of the individual work
  • several works -> Exhibition title : several works
• choose a role
• choose group exhibition as an art type category
• individual works are not reported

Compilation work for a publication (ie. partial implementation, F2)

• you can only report work that have been defined by the Ministry of Culture and Education and that have both roles (for example curator, producer) and type categories (for example curation) readily available in Justus
• you must always choose a role and a type category
• each partial implementation must be identified in the publication title field (Title of exhibition - partial implementation, for example Collisions - curation)
• please note: one person can typically report 1-2 roles per exhibition
• be sure to include additional information to publication year and the place of publication (for example 1.-20.5.2022, LUJA-galleria, Lahti)

Exhibitions held in Novias's own galleries

• the requirement for publicity is only met when held in a named gallery or other designated space
• information on the exhibition must be publicly available (ie. not only in Yammer or intranet)

Artistic publications are reported via Justus. A role and a type category must be chosen for every reported F-type publication.

To report a solo performance (F1)

• title of the concert or event as publication name
• your name as both publication author and organization's author
• choose a role
• choose an art type category, for example concert, opera production, dance piece, performance
• musical arrangements and compositions are usually F1

To report an artistic publication with many contributors (F2)

• title of the concert or event or product as publication title. Together with the title you can fill in the name of a possible orchestra or choir.
• additional information to publication year : dates whe the concert or event is held, for example 27-28.7.2022, 5-17.11.2022 (three concerts)
• at least your name as author (both publication and organization). If there are other authors from Novia with the same role, please add them. If the authors from Novia have other roles, report every role separately.
• choose a role
• choose an type category that describe the publication

Note!

• you can only report work that have been defined by the Ministry of Culture and Education and that have both roles (for example musician, producer) and type categories (for example concert) readily available in Justus
• you must always choose a role and a type category
• please note: one person can typically report 1-2 roles per event
• be sure to include additional information to publication year and the place of publication in the part "Other information"
• the last field "additional information" is only seen by your validator, please add a link to a webbpage with information about the event here.

Artistic outcomes of teaching activities cannot be reported as such. It is however possible to report teacher's own artistic input, provided that other criteria for artistic publications are met. For example, a teacher can report curating a student art work exhibition as a partial implementation (F2), but not the exhibition itself.

Please note that supervising a thesis or any other student work does not count as teacher's own artistic input and can therefore not be reported.